Right down to the text

Bibliotheca Laureshamensis – digital: Virtual Monastic Library of Lorsch

The project's aim is to virtually reconstruct the monastic library of UNESCO-World Heritage Site Abbey Lorsch. More than 300 medieval manuscripts have survived and today they are spread over 73 libraries worldwide. The unification of the Lorsch codices and fragments for the first time makes the Abbey's intellectual foundation, and moreover the Carolingian world picture visible and researchable.

In comparison to Abbey Lorsch almost no other library from the Early Middle Ages that is reconstructable today, accomplished a comparable achievement in synthesis than Lorsch Abbey. It was one of the centres, in which ancient heritage was secured throughout all the following disruptions through transcriptions, comments and further editing. Especially in Lorsch an immense amount of knowledge was transferred and introduced, not only into Carolingian but into the entire medieval culture. For the Humanists Lorsch's monastic library was still of such interest that the collection became the core of Ottheinrich's library, the Bibliotheca Palatina in Heidelberg, and it contributed notably to its fame.

The Virtual Library unites all Lorsch manuscripts in the form of digital reproductions. In addition all codices are complemented by manuscript descriptions, which are researchable in a database set up especially for the project. The Search option in the database provides for the first time a detailed and systematic access to Lorsch's manuscript heritage.

The project is financed by the Verwaltung der Staatlichen Schlösser und Gärten Hessen. The digitization and the compilation of manuscript description is realized by Heidelberg University Library.

Universitätsbibliothek HeidelbergUnesco Welterbestätte Kloster LorschBundesland Hessen

Direkt zum Text

Bibliotheca Laureshamensis – digital: Virtuelle Klosterbibliothek Lorsch

Ziel des Projektes ist es, die Bibliothek des zum UNESCO-Welterbe erhobenen Klosters Lorsch virtuell wieder erstehen zu lassen. Über 300 mittelalterliche Handschriften sind heute noch erhalten und auf 73 Bibliotheken weltweit verstreut. Die Zusammenführung der Lorscher Codices und Fragmente ermöglicht es erstmals, die intellektuellen Grundlagen des Klosters und darüber hinaus das Weltbild der Karolingerzeit auf breiter Grundlage zu erforschen.

In kaum einer heute noch rekonstruierbaren Bibliothek des Frühmittelalters wurde eine vergleichbare Syntheseleistung geschaffen. Lorsch war eines der Zentren, in dem über alle späteren Brüche hinweg das Erbe der Antike durch Abschriften gesichert und durch Bearbeitungen zunehmend auch verwandelt wurde. Ein ungeheurer Wissenstransfer wurde in Lorsch nicht nur für die karolingische, sondern auch für die gesamte mittelalterliche Kultur geleistet. Die Lorscher Bibliothek war noch für die Humanisten so interessant, dass die Sammlung zum Kern der Bibliothek des pfälzischen Kurfürsten Ottheinrich, der Bibliotheca Palatina in Heidelberg, wurde und viel zu deren Ruhm beigetragen hat.

Die Virtuelle Bibliothek vereint alle Lorscher Handschriften in Form von digitalen Reproduktionen. Zusätzlich werden in einer projekteigenen Datenbank alle Codices durch ausführliche wissenschaftliche Beschreibungen erschlossen. Die Suche in der Datenbank ermöglicht zum ersten Mal einen umfangreichen und systematischen Zugriff auf das Lorscher Handschriftenerbe.

Das Projekt wird von der Verwaltung der Staatlichen Schlösser und Gärten Hessen finanziert. Die Digitalisierung und die Erstellung der Handschriftenbeschreibungen realisiert die Universitätsbibliothek Heidelberg.

Universitätsbibliothek HeidelbergUnesco Welterbestätte Kloster LorschBundesland Hessen